OPSF Header
                              Omaha Presbyterian Seminary Foundation is closed anytime Omaha Public Schools are closed

FB Like Button  

Contact Information Board and Council Page Calendar of Events Presbyterian (USA) Seminaries Presbyterian (USA) Colleges Site Map


Congratulations to the 2016 Scholarship Winners


Omaha Presbyterian Seminary Foundation


Announces Scholarship Recipients 


Dr. Gary S. Eller, President of the Omaha Presbyterian Seminary Foundation has announced the recipients of Apollos Scholarship awards for this year, continuing the Foundation tradition of supporting seminary students who are pursuing a Master of Divinity degree and seeking to become ordained pastors in the Presbyterian Church (USA).  The Foundation has provided support to seminarians since 1954 and has awarded more than $4 million directly to students.



Distinguished Award Winners

Awards honoring former Foundation leaders provide the seminary students with $6,000 annually during the academic year.  The 2016-17 scholars selected for special recognition are:


Sara Are

Sarah Rachel Are
(William L. Mulford Scholarship) 

Ms. Are is beginning her Senior year at Columbia Theological Seminary in Decatur, Georgia. She is a member of Village Presbyterian Church in Prairie Village, Kansas, and the Heartland Presbytery oversees her preparation for ministry. 







 Paul Kim
Paul Jun Young Kim
(Robert K. Adams Scholarship) 

Mr. Kim is entering his second year as a Middler at Princeton Theological Seminary in Princeton, New Jersey this fall.  He is under the care of Eastern Korean Presbytery and is a member of Praise Presbyterian Church of Somerset, New Jersey.








Sam Lundquist

Samual Vincent Schlundt Lunquist
(Eugene C. Dinsmore Scholarship)

Mr. Lundquist is just beginning his seminary education as a first year Junior at San Francisco Theoloical Seminary in San Anselmo, California.   He is a member of Mission Bay Community Church in San Francisco, California, and his preparation for ministry is guided by the Presbytery of San Francisco.




 Rosy Robson

   Rosy Alexandra Robson
   (Silas G. Kessler Scholarship)

Ms. Robson will embark on her Senior year this fall at Union Presbyterian  Seminary in Richmond, Virginia.  She is under care of Presbytery of Western North Carolina where she is a member of the Black Mountain Presbyterian Church in Black Mountain, North Carolina.







Emily Wilesherr

 Emily Shacklett Wilmesherr
(Howard B. Dooley Scholarship

Ms. Wilmesherr is beginning her Senior year at Columbia Theological Seminary in Decatur, Georgia. She is a member of First Presbyterian Church in Murfreesboro, Tennessee and is under the guidance of Middle Tennessee Presbytery.









Marilyn A. Jackson Memorial Award 

The Marilyn A. Jackson Memorial Award provides first preference support for the preparation of gifted racial ethnic students in a Master of Divinity program at a PCUSA seminary. The scholarship honors the late Mrs. Jackson, who was a long-time member of the Center Ridge Presbyterian Church near Red Oak, Iowa. Each of the following scholars will receive $3000.00 toward their educational expenses for the academic year of 2016-2017. 



Sungwoo Kim

Sungwoo Kim: 

Mr. Kim will enter his Senior year this fall at Columbia Theological Seminary. He is a member of Shalom International Ministry in Stone Mountain, Georgia and under the guidance of The Greater Atlanta Presbytery. 









 Ben Nti 

Bernard K. Nti: 

Mr. Nti will begin his Senior year at Pittsburgh Theological Seminary in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. He is under the care of National Capitol Presbytery and a member of Ebenezer Presbyterian Church in Woodbridge, Virginia.








Apollos Scholars 

Apollos Scholarships offers recipients a maximum of $3,000 annually toward their expenses while they are enrolled in the Master of Divinity degree program.  Five students were chosen as Apollos Scholars this year.  They are listed by the seminary they attend.




 Matt Conner 

Matthew David Connor 

from First Presbyterian Church in Gastonia, North Carolina, and Western North Carolina Presbytery.














Eliza Smith

Eliza Joyce Smith 

from Shandon Presbyterian Church in Columbia, South Carolina, and Trinity Presbytery. 













 Cassie Waits

Cassie Lea Waits 

from Heritage Presbyterian Church in Acworth, Georgia, and Cherokee Presbytery.


















David AnnettDavid Lawrence Annett 

from Knox Presbyterian Church in Cincinnati, Ohio, and Cincinnati Presbytery.
















Tim McNinch

Timothy Charles McNinch 

from Crescent Hill Presbyterian Church in Louisville, Kentucky, and Mid-Kentucky Presbytery. 















Ongoing Awards 

Other Apollos Scholarship recipients (selected previously) and continuing their seminary studies include: Meagan Findeiss, Jessie Light, Benjamin P. Masters, Edmond D. Sackett at Austin; Rebekah B. Carpenter, Brittany Fiscus, Landon Dillard, Garam Han, Stephanie Bishop Loftin, Daekeun Park, Lauren M. Patrus, Barrett A. Payne, Charles M. Pittman, Kate Watkins, Glenda C. Wickstrom, at Columbia; Beau Dansizen, Christine A. Dempsey, Carolyn Grice, Colin R. Kerr, Sharon L. Rees, Katina D. Sharp at Dubuque, Madeleine S. Benishek. Jessica Rigel, Mary E. Stephan, Garrett Mostowski, and Zachary Wooten at Princeton; Joseph R. Chapman, Sarah Chivington-Buck and Patrick Kiptum at San Francisco.


Selection Criteria 

Apollos Scholarship applications are accepted from students who are members of a Presbyterian Church (USA) congregation, under the care of a Presbytery as a Candidate or Inquirer, and enrolled in one of the 10 theological institutions of the Presbyterian Church (USA). Applications may be submitted between January 15th and April 15th and those honored with an award are notified in early August. 


For additional information please contact: 

The Rev. Dr. Gary S. Eller, President 

Omaha Presbyterian Seminary Foundation 

7101 Mercy Road, Suite 216                                                               

Omaha, NE  68106-2616 

Email: opsf@opsf-omaha.org  Telephone: (888) 244-6714 






 2018 Events

 Winter Pastors' School

Feb 5-8, 2018

Hastings Chapel