OPSF Header
                              Omaha Presbyterian Seminary Foundation is closed anytime Omaha Public Schools are closed

FB Like Button  

Contact Information Board and Council Page Calendar of Events Presbyterian (USA) Seminaries Presbyterian (USA) Colleges Site Map


 Congratulations to the 2013 Scholarship Winners


Omaha Presbyterian Seminary Foundation 


Announces Recipients of 2013 Scholarships


Dr. Gary S. Eller, President of the Omaha Presbyterian Seminary Foundation has announced the recipients of Apollos Scholarship awards for this year, continuing the Foundation tradition of supporting seminary students who are pursuing a Master of Divinity degree and seeking to become ordained pastors in the Presbyterian Church (USA).  The Foundation has provided support to seminarians since 1954 and has awarded more than $2.5 million directly to students. 



Distinguished Award Winners 


Four students receive distinguished awards honoring former Foundation leaders.  These awards provide $6,000 annually during the academic year.  The 2013-14 honorees are: 


The Howard B. Dooley Scholarship 

Brian Lays is beginning his second year at Pittsburgh Theological Seminary. He is a member of Wellshire Presbyterian Church in Denver, Colorado, and Denver Presbytery oversees his preparation for ministry. 


The Silas G. Kessler Scholarship 

A member of Central Presbyterian Church in Atlanta, John Harrison will start his Middler year this fall at Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary in Austin, Texas.  Mr. Harrison is under the care of Greater Atlanta Presbytery.  


The Eugene C. Dinsmore Scholarship 

Kimberly Stokesbary is entering her third year at Princeton Theological Seminary.  She is a member of Colbert Presbyterian Church in Colbert, Washington, and her preparation for ministry is guided by Inland Northwest Presbytery. 


The Robert K. Adams Scholarship 

As a second year student at Princeton Theological Seminary, Nathan Sell is under care of the Scioto Valley Presbytery where he is a member of the First Presbyterian Church in Granville, Ohio. 


Apollos Scholars 


The second level of Apollos Scholarships offers recipients $3,000 annually toward their expenses while they are enrolled in the Master of Divinity degree program.  Seventeen students were chosen as Apollos Scholars this year.  They are listed by the seminary they attend. 


Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary, Austin, Texas 

Kathy Lee, Middler, from the Chinese Presbyterian Church in Kenner, Louisiana, and the Presbytery of South Louisiana. 


ColumbiaTheological Seminary, Decatur, Georgia 

Erin Gaston, Senior, from John Knox Presbyterian Church in Greenville, South Carolina, and Foothills Presbytery. 

Karl Heimbuck, Junior, from the United Presbyterian Church of Laramie, Wyoming, and the Presbytery of Wyoming. 

SongYin Paik, Senior, from Corona Presbyterian Church of Denver, Colorado, and the Presbytery of Denver.   


Universityof Dubuque Theological Seminary, Dubuque, Iowa 

Ekram Kachu, Middler, from Cottage Grove Avenue Presbyterian Church in Des Moines, Iowa, and the Presbytery of Des Moines. 

Matthew Wilcox, third year of Distance Education, from Highland Presbyterian Church of Lancaster, Pennsylvania, and Donegal Presbytery. 


LouisvillePresbyterian Theological Seminary, Louisville, Kentucky:   

Jieun Han, Middler, from the Korean Presbyterian Church of Louisville, Kentucky, and Mid-Kentucky Presbytery. 

Elana Levy, Senior, from Faith Presbyterian Church of Greensboro, North Carolina, and Salem Presbytery. 

Madison Munoz, Senior, from First Presbyterian Church of Ocala, Florida, and St. Augustine Presbytery. 

Jenna Wissink, Senior, from Calvin Presbyterian Church of Louisville, Kentucky, and Mid-Kentucky Presbytery. 


McCormick Theological Seminary, Chicago, Illinois 

Addison Domske, Middler, from New Wilmington Presbyterian Church of New Wilmington, Pennsylvania, and Shenango Presbytery. 

Tyler Orem, Middler, from the First Presbyterian Church of Shelbyville, Indiana, and Whitewater Valley Presbytery. 


PittsburghTheological Seminary, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania:  

Susan Blank, Middler, from Congruity Presbyterian Church of New Alexandria, Pennsylvania, and the Presbytery of Redstone. 


Princeton Theological Seminary, Princeton, New Jersey:   

Richard Adam DeVries, Senior, from the First Presbyterian Church of Nashville, Tennessee, and the Presbytery of Middle Tennessee. 

Lauren Gully, Senior, from Canyon Hills Presbyterian Church of Anaheim, California, and Los Ranchos Presbytery. 

Christopher Miller, Middler, from the First Presbyterian Church of Lee’s Summit, Missouri, and Heartland Presbytery. 

Kari Olson, Middler, from University Presbyterian Church of Seattle, Washington, and Seattle Presbytery. 

Ongoing Awards 

Other Apollos Scholarship recipients (selected previously) and continuing their seminary studies include: Cynthia Eschliman at Austin; Ridgley Beckett and Steven Sankey at Columbia; Andrew Smothers at Dubuque; Lynn Hasselbarth, Joanna Hipp and Katherine Jasa at Louisville; Matthew Bauhof and Molly Hall at McCormick; Simeon Harrar, Charissa Howe, and Eric Vinsel at Pittsburgh; Sarah Bird and Eileen LeCluyse at Princeton; and Dori Hjalmarson at San Francisco


Selection Criteria 

Apollos Scholarship applications are accepted from students who are members of a Presbyterian Church (USA) congregation, under the care of a Presbytery as a Candidate or Inquirer, and enrolled in one of the 10 theological institutions of the Presbyterian Church (USA).  Applications may be submitted between January 15th and April 15th, and those honored with an award are notified in early August. 





For additional information or to obtain a copy, you may contact: 


President:  The Rev. Dr. Gary S. Eller                       Telephone:      (888) 244-6714 

Omaha Presbyterian Seminary Foundation 

7101 Mercy Road, Suite 216                                      Email:   opsf@opsf-omaha.org 

Omaha, NE  68106-2616 

 2018 Events

 Winter Pastors' School

Feb 5-8, 2018

Hastings Chapel